By Laws

By-laws are local laws established by Councils to manage issues of the Council area for the convenience, comfort and safety of the community.

By-law review

In accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1999 the City of Victor Harbor has reviewed By-laws 1 to 6 and established By-law No. 7 (Foreshore).  The new by-laws came into effect on 1 January 2017.

View Council's By-laws

  1. By-law No. 1 Permits and Penalties(122 kb)
  2. By-law No. 2 - Moveable Signs(238 kb)
  3. By-law No. 3 - Roads(185 kb)
  4. By-law No. 4 - Local Government Land(502 kb)
  5. By-law No. 5 - Dogs(199 kb)
  6. By-law No. 6 - Cats(130 kb)
  7. By-law No. 7 - Foreshore(278 kb)

Some of the provisions within Council's by-laws only apply to local government land or foreshore areas, as determined by Council.

These areas are identified in the following document:
Identification of Local Government Land applicable to Council By-law provisions(88 kb)

Phone: 08 8551 0500 | Email:
1 Bay Road | PO Box 1, Victor Harbor SA 5211
Date Last Modified: 2016-09-01T16:01:38
This is a printer friendly version of the following web page:-